List of all Public and Private Sector Banks in India 2023

Rate this post

The number of Public Sector Banks (PSB) is reduced to just 12 in India in August 2019. List of all Public and Private Sector Banks in India

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) is the highest banking regulatory authority in India. It was established by the RBI Act, 1934. Indian banks are basically divided into two groups; schedule banks and non-Schedule banks.

Scheduled banks are those banks that are included in the second schedule of the RBI Act, 1934. On the basis of ownership; commercial banks are further divided into two groups i.e. Private Sector Banks and Public Sector Banks.

List of all Public and Private Sector Banks in India

Types of commercial banks in India

Scheduled Banks:- Banks that have been included in the Second Schedule of RBI Act,1934; categorized as follows:-

1. Private Sector Banks:- Majority of stake is held by private individuals. Examples of Private banks are; HDFC Bank, ICICI Bank, and AXIS Bank, etc.

2. Public Sector Banks:– Majority of stake is held by the government. Examples of Public Sector Banks are; Punjab National Bank, state bank of India and Central Bank of India, etc.

3. Foreign Banks:- These are the banks with Head office outside the country in which they are located. Examples of Foreign Sector Banks are; Standard Chartered Bank, American Express, and Citi Bank etc.

In this article, we have published the list of all the Private Sector Banks and Public Sector Banks.

List of Public Sector Banks in India 2020

Bank NameEstablishmentHeadquarter
1. Bank of Baroda1908Vadodara, Gujarat
2. Bank of India1906Mumbai, Maharashtra
3. Bank of Maharashtra1935Pune, Maharashtra
4. Canara Bank1906Bengaluru, Karnataka
5. Central Bank of India1911Mumbai, Maharashtra
6.Indian Bank1907Chennai, Tamil Nadu
7.Indian Overseas Bank1937Chennai, Tamil Nadu
8. Punjab and Sind Bank1908New Delhi, Delhi
9.Punjab National Bank1894New Delhi, Delhi
10.State Bank of India1955Mumbai, Maharashtra
11.UCO Bank1943Kolkata, West Bengal
12.Union Bank of India1919Mumbai, Maharashtra
                                                                        List of Private Sector Banks 2020
Bank nameEstablishmentHeadquarter
1. Axis Bank1993Mumbai, Maharashtra
2. Bandhan Bank2015Kolkata, West Bengal
3.CSB Bank1920Thrissur, Kerala
4. City Union Bank1904Thanjavur, Tamil Nadu
5.DCB Bank1930Mumbai, Maharashtra
6. Dhanlaxmi Bank1927Thrissur, Kerala
7. Federal Bank1931Aluva, Kerala
8. HDFC Bank1994Mumbai, Maharashtra
9. ICICI Bank1994Mumbai, Maharashtra
10. IndusInd Bank1964Mumbai, Maharashtra
11. IDFC FIRST Bank2015Mumbai, Maharashtra
12. Jammu & Kashmir Bank1938Srinagar, Jammu and Kashmir
13. Karnataka Bank1924Mangaluru, Karnataka
14. Karur Vysya Bank1916Karur, Tamil Nadu
15. Kotak Mahindra Bank2003Mumbai, Maharashtra
16. Lakshmi Vilas Bank1926Chennai, Tamil Nadu
17. Nainital bank1922Nainital, Uttarakhand
18. RBL Bank1943Mumbai, Maharashtra
19. South Indian Bank1929Thrissur, Kerala
20. Tamilnad Mercantile Bank1921Thoothukudi, Tamil Nadu
21. YES Bank2004Mumbai, Maharashtra
22. IDBI Bank1964Mumbai, Maharashtra

In terms of revenue, HDFC Bank is the largest bank of the private sector in India. It has a total revenue of Rs. 816.02 billion (US$11 billion). ICICI Bank is in second place in terms of revenue. It has a revenue of Rs. 736.60 billion (US$10 billion).

The above-mentioned list of private sector banks and Public sector banks changes from time to time. So students need to get updated information through newspapers and other sources.

Hello, Everyone My Name Thilagar And I Am A Website Developer And Blogger  We are here to provide update on daily basis about Indian Government Jobs in various sectors, We provide all this information as User-Friendly Content to job Seekers.

Leave a Comment